Event Detail

Call For Nominations: The 31st Annual Motorola Solutions Foundation Excellence In Public Service Award - presented and administered by the Civic Federation

Event on August 09, 2022


PLEASE NOTE: nominations close Monday, September 19, 2022.

The Civic Federation is pleased to announce a call for nominations for the 31st Annual Motorola Solutions Foundation Excellence in Public Service Award.

The Excellence in Public Service Award recognizes a non-elected government employee in Illinois who has made an extraordinary impact on the quality of government services in state and local governments. The award seeks to honor individuals who show dedication to a vision of quality management, leadership and innovation that leads to lasting achievements and more effective government.

Individuals eligible for nomination are non-elected Illinois state or local government officials, including department heads and chiefs of staff. Nominees must be currently serving in a non-elected position in state or local government and be a resident of Illinois.

Past honorees and co-honorees include Secretary of the Illinois Department of Human Services Grace B. Hou, Illinois Department of Public Health Director Ngozi Ezike, M.D., Chicago Department of Public Health Commissioner Allison Arwady, M.D., Chicago Transit Authority President Dorval Carter, Chicago Department of Aviation Commissioner Jamie Rhee, Cook County Forest Preserve District General Superintendent Arnold Randall, Chicago Cook Workforce Partnership CEO Karin M. Norington-Reaves, Mayor’s Office for People with Disabilities Commissioner Karen Tamley, former Illinois Department of Human Rights Director Rocco Claps, former Chicago Department of Aviation Commissioner Rosemarie Andolino, former Director of the Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services Julie Hamos, former Chicago First Lady Margaret C. Daley, former U.S. Secretary of Education (as Chicago Public Schools CEO) Arne Duncan and former Chicago Transit Authority President Ron Huberman. A full listing of honorees can be found below.

To nominate a candidate: please email the nominee’s name, title, government and a brief description of the nominee’s achievements, including why they are deserving of the award, to outstandingpublicservant@civicfed.org. We encourage any details or observations that go beyond standard career or biographical highlights.

If requested, nominations can be confidential. The deadline for nominations is Monday, September 19, 2022, and the event will take place later this year. 


Past Honorees

2021    Grace B. Hou, Secretary of the Illinois Department of Human Services

2020    Ngozi Ezike, M.D., Director, Illinois Department of Public Health
            Allison Arwady, M.D., Commissioner, Chicago Department of Public Health

2019    Dorval Carter, President, Chicago Transit Authority

2018   Jamie Rhee, Commissioner, Chicago Department of Aviation

2017   Arnold Randall, General Superintendent, Cook County Forest Preserve District

2016   Karin M. Norington-Reaves, CEO, Chicago Cook Workforce Partnership

2015   Karen Tamley, Commissioner, Chicago Mayor’s Office for People with Disabilities

2014   Rocco Claps, Director, Illinois Department of Human Rights

2013   Rosemarie S. Andolino, Commissioner, Chicago Department of Aviation

2012   Julie Hamos, Director, Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services

2011   Margaret C. Daley, Former First Lady, City of Chicago

2010   James R. Reilly, Trustee, Metropolitan Pier and Exposition Authority

2009   Judy Erwin, Executive Director, Illinois Board of Higher Education

2008   Arne Duncan, CEO, Chicago Public Schools

2007   Ron Huberman, President, Chicago Transit Authority

2006   Lori Healey, Commissioner, Chicago Department of Planning and Development

2005   Shirley Madigan, Chair, Illinois Arts Council

2004   Terry Peterson, CEO, Chicago Housing Authority

2003   James Joyce, Commissioner, Chicago Fire Department

2002   Pam McDonough, Director, Illinois Department of Commerce and Community Affairs

2001   William Holland, Auditor General, State of Illinois

2000   Mary Dempsey, Commissioner, Chicago Public Library
           Audrey McCrimon, Assistant to Secretary, Illinois Department of Human Services

1999   Lois Weisberg, Commissioner, Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs

1998   Paul Vallas, CEO, Chicago Public Schools

1997   Jess McDonald, Director, Illinois Department of Children and Family Services

1996   Richard Wagner, Director, Illinois Board of Higher Education

1995   Robert Belcaster, Chairman, Chicago Transit Authority

1994   Ruth Rothstein, Director, Cook County Hospital

1993   Mary Decker Laraia, Director, Cook County Capital Planning

1992   Sister Sheila Lyne, Commissioner, Chicago Department of Health